ROC government thanks international community for concern following Hualien earthquake

February 13, 2018

No. 022

After the earthquake that occurred off the coast of Hualien in eastern Taiwan on February 6, the government of the Republic of China (Taiwan) spared no effort in rescue and relief. Currently, reconstruction and restoration work has commenced following the completion of rescue and relief operations. On behalf of the government and people of the Republic of China (Taiwan), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expresses its heartfelt appreciation for the concern and support from the international community.

As of 9:00 on February 13, a total of 69 countries, as well as the Central American Integration System, Central American Parliament, European Union, and Organization of Eastern Caribbean States have conveyed concern and expressed willingness to provide relief supplies or send rescue teams to Taiwan. The 69 countries include Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the Czech Republic, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, the Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, the Marshall Islands, Mexico, Mongolia, Nauru, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Tuvalu, the United Kingdom, the United States, Venezuela, and Vietnam.